Review: Knox’s Sirens a moody, noirish crime thriller

Debut novelist Joseph Knox has crafted a bleak and gritty crime thriller with Sirens ($27, Crown), perfect for fans of Mike Hammer and other pulp-era detectives. All the elements are in place: a disgruntled, disgraced police detective, seedy bars, sexy women, ruthless thugs, corrupt cops, and treachery at every turn. … More Review: Knox’s Sirens a moody, noirish crime thriller

Advertisements

Review: Lullaby Road won’t lull readers to sleep

Long road trips tend to lull many people to sleep, but there’s no time for sleep for trucker Ben Jones in James Anderson’s newest novel, Lullaby Road. If you’re a reader along for the ride, you might find yourself staying up late, too. … More Review: Lullaby Road won’t lull readers to sleep

Books: Tom Hanks a proven storyteller on film, on page with Uncommon Type

In his new collection of short stories, Uncommon Type, actor-now-author Tom Hanks excels in creating a sense of place immediately identifiable to readers – we’ve all been there or all remember similar places in our own past – and in crafting believable, likable characters. … More Books: Tom Hanks a proven storyteller on film, on page with Uncommon Type

Massacre of Mankind impressive but overly long sequel to H.G. Wells classic

by G. Robert Frazier Before I sat down to read Stephen Baxter’s The Massacre of Mankind (Crown, $27) – the sequel to H.G. Wells’s classic The War of the Worlds – I decided to reacquaint myself with the original. I’m glad I did. Yes, stylistically it is a little stale. There’s hardly any dialogue, but the … More Massacre of Mankind impressive but overly long sequel to H.G. Wells classic