Reviews: Spillane, Deaver, Wolff novels provide summer of thrills

If you’re looking to spice up your summer reading with thrills and mystery, look no further than these three titles from Mickey Spillane, Jeffery Deaver and James Wolff.

More Reviews: Spillane, Deaver, Wolff novels provide summer of thrills

Advertisements

Review: Tatjana Soli recounts dangerous lives on American plains

With devastating losses on both sides of the war and with their own lives in horrific turmoil, “it seemed easier to die than to live.” But neither Anne nor Libbie is the type to give up, even as they race toward an unavoidable collision on the frontier. … More Review: Tatjana Soli recounts dangerous lives on American plains

Michael Ondaatje discusses the clues that lead to stories

Michael Ondaatje, the author of several critically acclaimed literary novels, including The English Patient, considers himself an archaeologist. Not the kind that roots around in the dirt for prehistoric skeletons, but the kind that extracts memories and transcribes them to the written page. … More Michael Ondaatje discusses the clues that lead to stories

Review: Knox’s Sirens a moody, noirish crime thriller

Debut novelist Joseph Knox has crafted a bleak and gritty crime thriller with Sirens ($27, Crown), perfect for fans of Mike Hammer and other pulp-era detectives. All the elements are in place: a disgruntled, disgraced police detective, seedy bars, sexy women, ruthless thugs, corrupt cops, and treachery at every turn. … More Review: Knox’s Sirens a moody, noirish crime thriller