Reading and Writing Around the Web: Feeling Bookish

Every day I scour the web for interesting articles, writing tips, and just great reads. It’s all part of my ongoing effort to learn more about the craft of writing. Today’s roundup includes a look at the latest in books and authors. Enjoy.

IMG_20150813_232522617

Ankerwycke Books, which is the publishing arm of the American Bar Association, is reprinting Erle Stanley Gardner’s Perry Mason series. I picked up three of the first five books this week from Walmart.com. I used to read these books during my free study period at high school but have never had these books as part of my collection.

For Such A TimeThere’s an interesting drama going on over in the romance literature world right now concerning the Nazi romance novel For Such A Time by Kate Breslin. The book was recently nominated for two major prizes at the Romance Writers of America conference in July, but has since come under fire for its story involving the romance between Hadassah, an inmate at a concentration camp in World War II, and the Nazi commander who rescues her to be his secretary.

Frank Herbert’s Dune turns 50 this year. Here’s an interesting article about how the ecological lessons of the novel were ahead of its time. I’ve never read this one, but my brother speaks very highly of it so I’ll likely give it a read someday.

JRR Tolkien’s first story will see the light of day this month. The Story of Kullervo was written in 1915. Tolkien is among four writers featured in a new book, The Fellowship: The Literary Lives of the Inklings: JRR Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, Owen Barfield and Charles Williams. George R.R. Martin, in a recent talk, noted that Tolkien failed to deliver at the conclusion of The Lord of the Rings.

Dog in the Night-TimeThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon was recently pulled from the children’s reading list at Lincoln High School in Tallahassee, Fla., amid concerns over foul language used in the book. Incredibly, this is an awarded-winning book that has also spawned a prize-winning play.

Everyone seems to have a list of best books to read, even President Barack Obama. I came across these lists in the past week. I have my own big list of books to wade through, but I do peruse these lists for something I’ve missed or something everyone is talking about. I just wish I could read faster.

Amazon’s 100 Books to Read in a Lifetime – I’ve got several of these books in my library already and I found a few I’d like to add to my reading list. One book I read and despised as a child was Where the Wild Things Are. It gave me nightmares. Maybe I should go back and reread it.

The Guardian posted this list: The 100 Best Novels Written in English.

And for those genre-specific readers, here are 10 Best Sci-Fi and Fantasy Novels of 2015

If you still can’t find anything to read after sifting through the above lists, chances are you’ll find something on Oct. 5. That’s the day being heralded as Super Thursday in the bookworld, in which more than 500 new books will hit the market in time for Christmas gift-giving.

Finally, if you’re in the Nashville area looking for a good read, head over to Parnassus Books, one of CNN’s coolest bookstores in the world.

What are you reading? Leave a comment below and let’s talk about it.

Leave a Reply

